2016 Honors Nominations

15 March 2016 Deadline: Union Fellows, other Union Medals, Awards, and Prizes
15 April 2016 Deadline: Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award, Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service, Gutenberg Lecture

Union Fellows
Nominations for 2016 Fellows can be submitted via the AGU Union Fellows website until 15 March 2016. Nominations will first be reviewed by the Fellows Committee for each section. Section recommendations are then sent on to the Union Fellows Committee, which will make the final determination. 2016 Seismology Section Fellows Committee: Barbara Romanowicz (chair), Geoff Abers, Ralph Archuleta, Michael Bostock, Shuichi Kodaira, Anne Sheehan.

Union Medals, Awards and Prizes
Union Medals, Awards and Prizes that are often of interest to seismologists include the Macelwane, Lehman, Bucher, Bowie, Ewing, and Hess Medals and the Smith, Ambassador, Flinn, International, and Excellence in Geophysical Education Awards. We also encourage you to consider nominating colleagues for other medals and awards. Nominations for Union medals and awards are not reviewed at the section level. Nominations should be submitted through the AGU website by 15 March 2016.

Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award
The Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award recognizes the scientific accomplishments of young scientists in the field of seismology. Nominees for this award in 2016 should have obtained their Ph.D. in 2013–2015 and should be a member of AGU with a primary affiliation in the Seismology Section. Please submit nominations by 15 April 2016 through the AGU website. The award will be presented at the 2016 AGU Fall Meeting, just before the Gutenberg Lecture. 2016 Aki Award Committee: Sue Beck (chair), Andreas Fichtner, Miaki Ishii, Karin Sigloch, German Prieto, and Donna Shillington.

Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service
The Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service is given annually to an AGU member with a primary affiliation in the Seismology, Geodesy, or Tectonophysics Sections who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership on community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. Nominations should be submitted by 15 April 2016 through the AGU website. The selection committee for this award is made up of the Seismology, Geodesy, and Tectonophysics Section Presidents and President-elects.

Gutenberg Lecture
The Gutenberg Lecture is the named lecture in seismology given annually at the December AGU Meeting. Please submit suggestions for the 2016 Gutenberg Lecturer by 15 April 2016 through the AGU website and send a confirmation email to Doug Wiens; a short paragraph would be fine. 2016 Gutenberg Lecture Committee: Doug Wiens (chair), Greg Beroza, Göran Ekström, Yoshio Fukao, Maureen Long, and Eleonore Stutzman.

Seismology Honors Canvassing Committee
The charge of the Seismology Section Honors Canvassing Committee is to encourage nominations of outstanding members of the Seismology Section for AGU awards at the Union and section level. Members are taking a comprehensive look at potential nominees across the section, including international members, women, and other underrepresented groups. 2016 Honors Nominating Committee: Satish Singh (chair), Suzanna Carbotte, Bill Ellsworth, and Allan Rubin.

AGU conflict of interest policy
Under AGU’s conflict of interest policy for its honors program, members of the selection committee for a given honor are not able to nominate, write a supporting letter, or be nominated for that honor. The policy also includes guidelines for nominations of former graduate advisers, graduate advisees, and postdocs.