Aki Award

Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award
Established in 2008, the Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award recognizes the scientific accomplishments of young scientists in the field of seismology.  The award is for recent graduates with a Ph.D. degree awarded in the three year period prior to 1 January of the year of the award presentation*.

Aki Award Recipients

2019 Nominations


*Parental Leave: If provided by the nominee’s institution and taken by the nominee during this three-year period, parental leave can extend the eligibility period.

Please submit nominations by 15 April 2018 through the section awards nomination form on the main AGU website.

Nominations should include:

  • A nomination letter;
  • The candidate’s curriculum vitae;
  • Copies of published or in-press manuscripts that illustrate the candidate’s quality of work; and
  • Up to three letters of recommendation.

The nomination and supporting letters should describe the substance and quality of the nominee’s research accomplishments.

2018 Aki Award Committee: Victor Tsai (chair), Eliza Richardson, Vera Schulte-Pelkum, Brandon Schmandt, Samantha Hansen, Hrvoje Tkalcic

The Aki  Award will be presented at the AGU Fall Meeting just prior to the Gutenberg Lecture.