August, 2013

Posted 01/13/14 by karenf in Newsletters

AGU Seismology Section News: August, 2013

Congratulations to the 2013 class of AGU Fellows and the recipients of this year’s Seismology Section honors!

Brandon Schmandt is the winner of the 2013 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award.  This award is given each year to an outstanding young seismologist who is within three years of receiving her/his Ph.D.  The award will be presented at the 2013 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Gutenberg Lecture.

Michael Ritzwoller will be giving the 2013 Gutenberg Lecture: “The emerging legacy of USArray: New views of the architecture of the North American continent.”  The Gutenberg Lecture is the named lecture on seismology given annually at the Fall Meeting and showcases cutting-edge research.

Julia Morgan has won the 2013 Paul G. SIlver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service.  This award is given jointly by the Seismology, Geodesy and Tectonophysics Sections to a member who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. The award will be presented immediately before the Bowie Lecture at the Fall Meeting.

2013 AGU Fellows with ties to seismology include: Roland Burgmann, Herb Dragert, Cynthia Ebinger, Joan Gomberg, Denis Hatzfeld, Casey Moore, Andrew Nyblade, Kazushige Obara, and An Yin.  We look forward to celebrating with them at both the Seismology/Tectonophysics Joint Business Meeting/Reception on Tuesday, 10 December, 6:30—8:00 p.m., and at the Honors Ceremony on Wednesday, 11 December, 6:00 p.m., held during the 2013 AGU Fall Meeting.

Seismology Section Student Representative
Our thanks to Anna Foster for serving as the student representative for the Seismology section over the last two years.  Since Anna is finishing up her Ph.D. (Congrats, Anna!) we are now looking for a new Ph.D. student to serve in this role.  This position involves being a voice for student interests and concerns within the section, and includes attending a student breakfast and a meeting with the section officers at the Fall Meeting.  If you are a third or fourth year graduate student and would like to take on this job, please send Karen Fischer a short e-mail describing your interest in the position, as well as your research area and Ph.D. advisor.

Seismology Section Web master
We are evaluating how to improve the Seismology section Web site.  If you are interested in contributing to this effort, and possibly becoming the Web master for the Seismology section, please let Karen Fischer know.

Best regards,

Karen Fischer, AGU Section President, Seismology
Richard Allen, AGU Section Secretary, Seismology
Greg Beroza, AGU Section President-elect, Seismology
Peter Shearer, AGU Section Past President, Seismology
Anna Foster, AGU Section Student Representative, Seismology