All posts by karenf

Older posts
  • December, 2016

    Posted 12/04/16

    Dear Colleagues, The AGU Fall Meeting is fast approaching. Please join us in thanking Dylan Mikesell (Boise State) and Colleen Dalton (Brown University) for the critical role they played as AGU Fall Meeting Coordinators for the Seismology Section. They worked hard behind the scenes to make this a successful meeting. Updates: (1) Seismology Section Election […]

  • Call for OSPA Volunteers for the Fall Meeting


    If you are attending the AGU Fall Meeting, please consider volunteering as a judge for Outstanding Student Paper Awards (OSPA). We have 177 students who have registered for this program (40 more than last year!), and we need three judges for each student. As of 27 November, we still have 410 judge slots available and […]

  • Seismology Section Events at the Fall Meeting


    Tues., 13 December, 4:00 p.m.: Presentation of the 2016 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award 102 Moscone South (session S24A) The 2016 Aki Award will be presented to Zhongwen Zhan prior to the Gutenberg Lecture. This award recognizes an outstanding young seismologist who is within 3 years of receiving her or his Ph.D. Tues., 13 December, […]

  • Congratulations to the 2016 AGU Fellows!

    Posted 11/20/16

    Congratulations to the 2016 class of AGU Fellows!  New Fellows affiliated with the Seismology Section include Robert Clayton (Caltech), Satoshi Ide (University of Tokyo), Susan Schwartz (University of California, Santa Cruz), Uri Ten Brink (U.S. Geological Survey Woods Hole Coastal and Marine Science Center), Kelin Wang (Geological Survey of Canada) and Robert White (University of […]

  • Congratulations to the 2016 AGU Medalists and Award Winners!


    Congratulations to Maureen Long (Yale University) on her AGU Macelwane Award, Anne Meltzer (Lehigh University) on her AGU Ambassador Award, and to all the 2016 AGU Medalists and Award Winners!

  • Results of AGU Election


    Congratulations to the incoming Seismology Section officers! Anne Sheehan (University of Colorado) is the new president-elect. Eliza Richardson (Penn State) is the incoming secretary. Come January, Doug Wiens (Washington University in St. Louis) will be the new Seismology president.

  • Congratulations to the 2016 Seismology Section Honorees!

    Posted 07/08/16

    Zhongwen Zhan (California Institute of Technology) has won the Seismology Section’s 2016 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award.  This award is given each year to an outstanding young seismologist who is within three years of receiving her/his Ph.D.  The award will be presented at the 2015 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Gutenberg Lecture.  Thank you to […]

  • 2016 Honors Nominations

    Posted 03/12/16

    15 March 2016 Deadline: Union Fellows, other Union Medals, Awards, and Prizes 15 April 2016 Deadline: Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award, Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service, Gutenberg Lecture Union Fellows Nominations for 2016 Fellows can be submitted via the AGU Union Fellows website until 15 March 2016. Nominations will first be reviewed […]

  • 2016 Elections for Seismology Section Officers


    Elections for the 2017–2018 Seismology Section President and Secretary will be held this summer, and a committee, chaired by Suzan van der Lee, will be choosing two candidates for each office. We welcome your suggestions for candidates. Please send them to Suzan van der Lee ( by 15 March.

  • 2015 Outstanding Student Presentation Award Winners


    Congratulations to the winners of Outstanding Student Presentation Awards from the 2015 Fall Meeting! This year’s winners from the Seismology Section are: Karianne Bergen (Stanford University), Daniel Bowman (University of North Carolina), Laurence Cowton (University of Cambridge), Andreas Mavrommatis (Stanford University), Pamela Moyer (University of New Hampshire), Marija Mustac (Australian National University), and Frederic Wagner […]

Older posts