Category Archives: Announcements

Older posts
  • AGU 2017 Fall Meeting Events

    Posted 11/15/17

    Joint Seismology/Tectonophysics Luncheon: Tuesday, December 12, 12:30 -1:30 PM at the Hilton Riverside, First Floor, Grand Ballroom – Suite B. The joint luncheon returns to the schedule this AGU meeting after a hiatus of many years. 2017 awardees and newly elected Fellows from the seismology and tectonophysics section will be honored. In addition, Dr. Gerardo […]

  • 2017 AGU medalists and honorees

    Posted 09/25/17

    Congratulations to the 2017 AGU medalists and honorees from the Seismology community:             Don Forsyth, Maurice Ewing Medal           Tom Jordan, William Bowie Medal           Brian Kennett, Inge Lehmann Medal           Robert Wesson, Edward A. Flinn III Award           Lucia Gualtieri, Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award           David Mainprice, Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific […]

  • Congratulations to the 2017 class of AGU Fellows!


    Congratulations to the 2017 class of AGU Fellows with Seismology connections. They include Wang-Ping Chen, Arthur Frankel, George Helffrich, Steven Roecker, and Ares Rosakis.  A special thanks to all of you in the community who came through with excellent nominations for the awardees and Fellows. This is an important task in strengthening our research community. Please start thinking […]

  • Congratulations to the 2016 Outstanding Student Paper Award Winners!

    Posted 02/20/17

    Congratulations to the winners of Outstanding Student Paper Awards (OSPA) from the 2016 Fall Meeting! This year’s winners from the Seismology section are: Michael Afanasiev (ETH Zurich) Yaochieh Chen (National Taiwan Normal University) Wenyuan Fan (University of California, San Diego) Dara Goldberg (University of California, San Diego) Kenneth Hudson (University of California, Santa Barbara) Andrew […]

  • Call for OSPA Volunteers for the Fall Meeting

    Posted 12/04/16

    If you are attending the AGU Fall Meeting, please consider volunteering as a judge for Outstanding Student Paper Awards (OSPA). We have 177 students who have registered for this program (40 more than last year!), and we need three judges for each student. As of 27 November, we still have 410 judge slots available and […]

  • Seismology Section Events at the Fall Meeting


    Tues., 13 December, 4:00 p.m.: Presentation of the 2016 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award 102 Moscone South (session S24A) The 2016 Aki Award will be presented to Zhongwen Zhan prior to the Gutenberg Lecture. This award recognizes an outstanding young seismologist who is within 3 years of receiving her or his Ph.D. Tues., 13 December, […]

  • Congratulations to the 2016 AGU Fellows!

    Posted 11/20/16

    Congratulations to the 2016 class of AGU Fellows!  New Fellows affiliated with the Seismology Section include Robert Clayton (Caltech), Satoshi Ide (University of Tokyo), Susan Schwartz (University of California, Santa Cruz), Uri Ten Brink (U.S. Geological Survey Woods Hole Coastal and Marine Science Center), Kelin Wang (Geological Survey of Canada) and Robert White (University of […]

  • Congratulations to the 2016 AGU Medalists and Award Winners!


    Congratulations to Maureen Long (Yale University) on her AGU Macelwane Award, Anne Meltzer (Lehigh University) on her AGU Ambassador Award, and to all the 2016 AGU Medalists and Award Winners!

  • Results of AGU Election


    Congratulations to the incoming Seismology Section officers! Anne Sheehan (University of Colorado) is the new president-elect. Eliza Richardson (Penn State) is the incoming secretary. Come January, Doug Wiens (Washington University in St. Louis) will be the new Seismology president.

  • Congratulations to the 2016 Seismology Section Honorees!

    Posted 07/08/16

    Zhongwen Zhan (California Institute of Technology) has won the Seismology Section’s 2016 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award.  This award is given each year to an outstanding young seismologist who is within three years of receiving her/his Ph.D.  The award will be presented at the 2015 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Gutenberg Lecture.  Thank you to […]

Older posts