Congratulations to the 2016 Seismology Section Honorees!

Zhongwen Zhan (California Institute of Technology) has won the Seismology Section’s 2016 Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award.  This award is given each year to an outstanding young seismologist who is within three years of receiving her/his Ph.D.  The award will be presented at the 2015 Fall Meeting immediately preceding the Gutenberg Lecture.  Thank you to this year’s Aki Award Committee: Sue Beck (chair), Andreas Fichtner, Miaki Ishii, Karin Sigloch, German Prieto, and Donna Shillington.

Robert Reilinger (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) is the winner of the 2016 Paul G. Silver Award for Outstanding Scientific Service.  This award is given jointly by the Seismology, Geodesy and Tectonophysics Sections to a member who has excelled in mentoring of junior colleagues, leadership of community research initiatives, or other forms of unselfish collaboration in research. The time and location of the award presentation at the Fall Meeting will be announced in the future.